A city wants to help teachers of its high school students (age14-18) improve their teaching. It is considering two plans:

1. Choose a small group of excellent teachers; these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for additional training in how to teach effectively, and they will then come back to their schools and provide that training for other teachers in school.

2. Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers, using

online material that each teacher will study individually.

At present, many students and parents always complain that their teachers usually do not have excellent methods and ways to teach them. In this case, the department of education has to come up with some ways to solve this question, so some people propose that providing additional training to school teachers, they can study individually by using online materials. While other people suggest that leaders can organize a small group of teachers to take courses which are taught by the famous experts, and then teachers will go back to school and teach other teachers who do not learn the courses which are taught by famous.

From my perspective, I prefer to choose the latter one, because I think the latter one is more useful than the 1st one.

Firstly, teachers who study individually cannot learn any knowledge. This is because in the courses, if scholars meet some points which are not easy to understand, they cannot ask experts or their colleagues immediately. For example, our school organized a same activity like the title mentioned. However, because of the finical reasons, our school just could support 50% teachers to go to this activity, and other people just could use their smart phones or laptops to download material which were related to the activity. However, the materials are comprised of many complicated notions which were not easy to understand. Therefore, no one could understand the notions, and they could not connect with professors who taught in this activity. On the country, the teachers who went to the activity usually learned a lot of knowledge, because if they believed the conceptions were a little fuzzy and vague, they would ask professors. When they went back to schools, they would teach to other teachers the knowledge which they learned in the activity. From this event, we can find that studying some knowledge by individually is useless in some time.

Secondly, the teachers who are required to study individually might not study very well. This is because there is no one will monitor them, so they will not focus on the materials. I still use our school experience which is mentioned in the last paragraph to explain my second point. Even though, our school leaders required the teachers who stayed in the school to read the material every night after school. However, just few teachers elected to read the material. This is because other teachers preferred to do other things which had not relation with their work, such as, walking dogs, feeding babies, or shopping with friends. However, if they go to activity, I believe some tutors would compulsory them to study. It is obvious to see that teachers who study by themselves without other people’ help usually can study very well.

In conclusion, from this two points, I really think that if want to improve the quality of high school students’ classes. Sending teachers to take courses which are taught by some experts and then they go back to teach other teachers is the best way to to improve the quality of high school courses.