Compare and contrast the advantages and disadvantages of using a cellphone Give illustrations and reasons to support your opinion

For me, I agree that people are more obsessed with buying material things due to three reasons mentioned below.

First, nowadays, people are becoming richer and richer, so people tend to collect possessions and judge others according to their wealth. For instance, I live in Taiwan, and these days most people are rich enough to buy expensive cars and fancy houses. Thus, those who can't afford a single car or an apartment are considered lazy, low-class, and even pariah in my society. In other words, due to the rapid economy development in my country, people become more obsessed with money and possessions. However, fifty years ago, most people are extremely impoverished, so they usually judge other according to their kindness and politeness instead of how much material things they own.

Secondly, reputation place an important role in modern people's life, so people tend to accumulate their wealth to fulfill their ego. Take my friend Todd as an example. Todd was born in an affluent family. Though he wants to make acquaintance with non-wealthy people, his parents do not recommend him to do so because they genuinely think that making friends with them might damage their reputation. In other words, his parents think highly of themselves about their wealthiness. Nonetheless, Todd's grandparents were born in WWII, and most of his friends and families live in a poverty-stricken area when they were young, so they don't really think that being poor is a shameful thing.

Finally, people nowadays put an emphasis on friendship, so they tend to show off their wealthiness in order to sustain their relationship with others. To elaborate, my friend Jammy was born in an extremely well-to-do family, and he always wants to show off his wealthiness by going to different parties every several days, and he argues that he can befriend other rich people by doing so. What's worse, when he discovered that one of this friend is not as rich as he thought, he immediately cut off the friendship between them. Yet, generally speaking, most people in the past are penurious, so they were prone to friends depending on other people's personality rather than wealth.

In conclusion, I maintain that people nowadays become extraordinarily obsessed with their possession as people become richer and richer. In addition, most people care about their image and friendship, so they tend to judge others based on their wealth.