Describe a fear you had to overcome. How did you overcome it?

In my opinion, a significant and common emotion present in everyone's lives is the “Fear”. Fear could have various reasons, which depend on person to person, such as some being afraid of mountain-climbing, swimming, going out, riding a bike, and many more. Nevertheless, there are also many ways to overcome this issue.

I am a happy-going person anyway, but yes, sometimes I also have a fear, and it is a fear of communication whenever I get a chance to socialize with others. Being a little bit of an introvert type of person; I feel happy doing my own stuff such as reading books, watching TV, cooking, singing, gardening etc. whenever I go out and meet with other people, I feel hesitant to talk with them. And whenever there is a talk with others, I try to finish it as soon as possible. Sometimes, I also get conscious of my behaviour, while having communication with others. For instance, I used to think whether I am talking in the right manner or not.

However, I also realized that the habit of communicating less sometimes is not good, since, it has lot of benefits and it helps in making good friends too, so I always keep trying to enhance my communication skills. To improve this, I try to get involved in talks more than earlier and joined classes for group discussion, which helped me in improving. After one month of the classes, I have seen a lot of improvement in me. Now I do not feel any hesitation in talking to others, even to strangers also. The best part is now I always try to initiate a discussion, which is amazing for me.

In conclusion, I can say that, yes, I faced a fear of communication with others, however, by practising daily and focusing on the improvement I have overcome this feeling. Now, I feel like a confident and positive person.