Discuss the advantages of living in a large city versus living in a small town.

The place one lives can affect their mentality and perspective. When deciding for a place to live people are often confused between living in a large city and living in a small town. Both has its own advantages and disadvantages which I will explore in the following essay.

Living in a large city can be entertaining and wholesome for some but all might not feel the same. Large cities have a lot of opportunities and this is one prime reason why many people flock from small towns to large cities. A large city can open up many job opportunities but at the same time it may not be easier to get a job in a city due to the high competition. The cost of living is higher in large cities and it can be hard for people with minimum wages to survive in a large city. Cities are usually found to be more polluted than small towns. Living in a city can make commuting to places easier due to their efficient communication systems. Life in a city can provide us with a lot of material things but it may miss out on a lot of other things. People living in large cities are usually found to be more stressed and worried than people living in the outskirts.

Small towns mostly offer a more peaceful and communal lifestyle though this may not be necessarily true. The downsides of living in a small town is that it may not have all the latest facilities and may not have much opportunities. A small town may not be a good place to start a business. The economy and purchasing power of the city is always at a higher side when compared to smaller towns. The towns may lack a lot of public facilities and energetic lifestyle that the cities have to offer, but people in villages and small towns are found to be happier than people in the cities. It is reported that life at small towns can offer more work life balance.

Cities can be more culturally vibrant and diverse than a small town. One reason for it be diverse is due to the large number of jobs and better economy it has to offer. Small towns too have their positives. They tend to less crowded and more peaceful. The quality of life in terms of happiness will always be high at small towns but in terms of infrastructure and facilities the city stands tall. In my opinion, both places have their positives and negatives and thus it is on the individual to decide where to live. People should choose their place of living according to their ambitions.