Do you agree with the following statement? The government should support scientific research even if there’s no practical use.

Since the dawn of civilization, people faced different kinds of impediments in their lives. Therefore, they always were exploring for finding the solution of these difficulties. The ever-increasing prominence of scientific researches has aroused this longstanding controversy as to whether the government should allocate money to scientific studies even if there is no practical use or not. Some people believe that government should support these researches anyway, while others may hold the opposite viewpoint and argue that it is not rational to spent lots of money on non-practical investigations. From my own perspective, the second idea is correct. There are numerous grounds, two of which I will elaborate in what follows.

The first reason coming to mind to substantiate my standpoint is that due to lack of enough money, it is more logical the government only supports practical researches. Researchers, in many cases, have lots of unrealistic ideas which want to examine without comprehensive knowledge. Many of these ideas are far-fetched and implausible to have any useful result. Thus, governments should not invest any money on these superficial ideas, which are a waste of money and time. Take my country as an example of this. In my country, there is no supervision on scientific researches as to whether are practical or not. Besides, all of these projects receive approximately similar amount of fund. As a consequence, there are lots of non-practical projects which do not have any constructive effect on improving the quality of individuals' lives and are just a waste of money. No one can deny the fact that the more governments invest money on unnecessary research projects, the less money remains for indisputable scientific researches. If government only allocates money to invaluable experimental projects, researchers do more endeavor to find rational subjects, because they know that this is the only way that they can have the support of the government.

The second noteworthy reason which deserves some words here is that there are lots of urgent problems which require significant attention and money to be solved. As a consequence, it is more necessary for the government to spend its money on solving these problems. For instance, cancer is an incurable disease which leads to death of hundreds of people every year. It is no secret that finding treatment of this fatal disease demands a large amount of money. Nowadays, despite the development of technology, the mortality of this disease remained high, because governments do not allot adequate budget for scientific investigations for treatment of cancer. I personally contend that the problem of lacking budget for such important researches which are the matter of life and death should be solved by reducing the donating money to the non-practical researches. This way, government could spend enough amounts of money on treatment of such serious diseases.

On the whole, based on the points mentioned above, I refuse this idea that governments should support scientific researches even if they are not practical. First, in this way, there is more chance that researchers come up with practical research subjects to have the support of the government. Secondly, there are more imperative predicaments which should be solved as soon as possible.