Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The government should support scientific research even if there’s no practical use

Scientific research play an important role in upcoming innovations and predict the uncertain future. Some of these inquiries are applicable, while others only have theoritical approaches which may don’t have any effects on our life. The noteworthy question is that whether a government should support scientific investigations which are not practical because of lacking in resources, expensive apparatuses, etc. I personally believe that authorities only have to allocate funds for useable investigations. In what follows, I will shed light on my reasons for this viewpoint.

The most noticeable reason is that supporting inapplicable inquiries unintentionally leads prospective research to have theoritical approaches rather than be useable. Beyond doubt, finding and developing useful and experimental investigations needs more hard-working than conceptual research, for working in a applied project needs some important factors to be considered, such as limited resources and technology or possible dangers. For example, let’s suppose we designed a novel wing for airplanes. Only if we pass some standards and our project is economically justifiable is it used, while in the world of theory, we can assume anything and sketch numerous wings of aircraft with odd shapes which could not be created in reality. Because of that reason, scholars usually have a tendency toward theoritical studies, and if the government equally pay attention to them, the situation will be aggravated. Therefore, we will not have many in the field investigations that bring us a bright future and improve the technology.

Another prominent reason which deserved some words here is that every government, even powerful ones, has a limited budget, and they must spend it in a wise manner from which their people benefit. Governments have a lot of duties, and every decision which will be made by them can either increase or decrease the quality of life. Moreover, because the amount of government budget is fixed and restricted, the more they devote this budget to a less important part, the less money they have for other parts. Therefore, they should prioritize parts of a society which may need resources and facilities. Consequently, I believe that financial resources which may be wanted to devote to impractical research should be spent to improve education system, transportations, healthcare, etc. which will be a real boon to people. Therefore, wasting money on this type of research which will rarely have beneficial effects for people decreases.

In conclusion, allotting budget to impractical investigations not only adversely affects future investigations but also will be a sheer waste of money. I suggest that authorities pay attention to other parts of the society, such as building or rebuilding schools instead of spending this funds on these types of inquiries.