Do you agree that it is better to work for business owned by someone else than to work for the business of one’s own family

It is tempting to think that working for businesses owned by one's family is a privilege since all profits go directly into the family's pocket. Nevertheless, from my perspective, it is better to work for businesses of someone else rather than devote one's energy to his or her family business.

On the one hand, the most significant problem of family-owned businesses is that it is hard to supervise. In most cases, family members not only share ownership of their company or store but also participate in the daily management of their business. Considering the emotional bond between these managers, who are all relatives to each other, it is difficult to get rid of personal feelings and make rational decisions for the company. My mother, for example, once invested in a factory along with my uncle. She worked delicately to win bids for the factory while my uncle was in charge of running the factory. With massive investment in money and time, my mother earned the factory considerable orders. However, their business was never profitable. It turns out that my uncle stole from the funding of the factory. If he were not a relative, my mother would have sued him for stealing. In the end, she merely withdrew her money without any punishment for my uncle's wrongdoing.

On the other hand, working in family businesses will limit one's choice of career. Unlike looking for a job in labor markets, where people could pick the companies that they are interested in, in which field will the family operate is often not up to a single person. Sadly, people may not like what their families are doing for a living. For instance, a friend of mine comes from a family that sells high-end watches for several generations. Unfortunately, the only hobby of my friend is music, and he would rather be a poor musician than to run his family business. Forcing him to work for the family is amount to destroy his dream.

Admittedly, the motivation for working for family business could be sufficient as people are eventually working for themselves. Nonetheless, tools such as stock option have similar functions, which encouraging people to work harder in businesses owned by someone else.

As a result, the benefits of working in companies owned by others bypass these of running a family business because family businesses are often harder to supervise, and people have little choice of their career if they decide to work for their family.