Do you agree or disagree? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of human, human beings have been involved in various wars, conflicts or periods of economic depression. The results of these and many more make, what we call now, history. Some people believe that it is a waste of time for university students to take history courses, because they most probably will not need it in their future career. I subscribe to the supposition that it is of great necessity for university students to take history courses, regardless of their field, for two important reasons.

First, these courses help students to shoot up their GPA. History courses are usually based on memory and do not require any background knowledge. As a result, getting a good mark in a history exam is easy. Since at the end of the semester it does not matter whether it is a scientific course or a history course; if you get a good grade in any of your courses, it is going to have a huge positive impact on your final GPA. I remember when I was in the third year of my studies, my university was about to drop me out because of my low grades. I was devastated about this incident, so I reached out to my university advisor. She told me that this year the university is offering a history course. According to my advisor, many students had gotten great grades in that course throughout the past years. Hence, she recommended me to take the course, and so I did. Even though I did not have a lot of time to prepare for the history exam, I got a good mark, simply because my memory is good and I could recall whatever I had studied the night before. As is clear, the history course saved me from being dismissed from the university.

Second, history course is able to teach students valuable life lessons. A history is the record of what had happened in the past; the fate of a tribe; probably because they had faced years of drought and hunger, the victory of a nation in a civil war; because they could manage to have allies from around the world, or the destruction of a society; because their leader was not able to do a good job at leading his people. As my history teacher puts it, "many regrets lie in the graveyards and only those who study history can avoid making the same mistakes". Only through the experience of other people, can we achieve our goals without having to face horrible consequences. It may be true that the students who do not study history at university are able to focus more on their field, but later in their lives, they will face difficult situations that their scientific knowledge cannot help them. Consequently, students must study history to ensure that they will not be considered as future victims, just like those that we read in history books.

In sum, with all this taken into account, I believe that every university student must have history course in their curriculum on the grounds that they will be able to easily get better GPA and they will not make their ancestors’ mistakes again. Who can ignore the merits of historical knowledge and only focus on their field?