Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: the ability to write well is more important than that of speaking?

Nowadays, in the wake of intense competitions in work and education, the number of people who want to find a short way to success is on the raise. The answer lies in those essential skills that anyone who dreams of a bright future ought to be equipped with. Some people contend that having a good command of writing is more important than that of speaking, while other hold the opposite attitude. From my perspective, the ability to speaking is no less important than that of writing, and I will elaborate this viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

One the one hand, the significance of writing ability should be paid attention in modern society. Not only in the school but also in company will we have many chances to use pen or laptop to accomplish the assigned task, which require written texts. At that time, excellent writing skills ensure one’s academic and professional success. To illustrate, for students, good writing ability can help them get good marks in exam, and a satisfactory thesis means they will be granted a dream academic degree. For those whose job is associated with writing, such as secretaries and writers, the competence to draft articles may be a stepping stone leading toward promotion and career advancement. For instance, my uncle works in advertisement industry, he must work for a lot of customers who feel like a good context to promote their selling every day. He has facility with writing vivid ads words, which is definitely his competitive edge in this industry. And as what is excepted, he gained a great celebrity and earned much money. Therefore, written skills are always required in every walk of work, and we can use the words as powerful weapon to fight for a better life.

On the other hand, just because the written ability is attached great importance by people does not mean the speaking competence should be ignored. Having a good interpersonal relationship in schools or companies is conducive to psychological health, where oral expression should be emphasized. The careful choice of words while speaking helps to determine one’s communicative abilities. No one wishes to make friend with who is poor at speaking. And in most cases, improper words may hurt other’s feelings. Imagine such thing, if a student is only instilled the thoughts that the written ability will do him a favor in exams and tasks, he will not grasp the opportunities to practice speaking skills. When he steps into the real society, he will find it difficult to make friends with others and live a lonely life. After all, this ability deserve our everlasting attention.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely draw a conclusion that the ability to write well is as crucial as that of speaking in our daily life. Without either of them, can we achieve our goals and get an overall development.