Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To achieve successful development of a country, a government should spend more money on young children’s education rather than on universities

Throughout history, education has played a crucial role in societies. The desire for being educated lies deep within the human spirit. In actuality, it has long been believed that the quality and effectiveness of education have no correlation with the age at which students receive them. However, this issue has recently engendered many controversies among academicians. While some are adamantly claiming that young children’s education should be given more prominence, many may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that governments should focus their attention on enhancing the quality of education in universities. Nevertheless, many remain neutral, sharing the view that a myriad of factors should be taken into consideration so as to be able to prove which belief is closer to reality. From my own perspective, young children’s education has a more profound impact on the economic growth of a country. The following paragraphs will aptly elucidate my viewpoint through three outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, without a shadow of a doubt, children learn faster and more effectively than adults. This means that in order to teach a certain amount of material to a child, less energy and time is required compared to that for an adult. Furthermore, children learn the material more profoundly, especially at early age. For the purpose of illustration, the Japan government conducted a pilot research project years ago to investigate the connection between age and learning efficiency. They found that a student between the age of 4 to 6 learns two times faster than a student over the age of 14.

Furthermore, it is established beyond doubt that a person’s personality forms at an early age. They develop the most important skills such as the ability to establish a relationship with others, the ability to work as a team player, etc. under the age of 10. Therefore, it is axiomatic that the quality of education they receive during this time will shape their future. According to recent research conducted by a social group in my country, students who have received high-quality education under the age of 10 are more likely to succeed in the future. This study indicated such students develop more essential skills and will be more successful leaders in the future.

The last but not the least reason by which the claim is justified is that there are many skills which one over the age of 18 cannot learn. As a case in point, the ability to learn to speak a foreign language like a native is inextricably intertwined with the age of the learner. In other words, the more one grows older, the less likely one will become to develop such skills. This issue has been the serious bone of contention over the past decades. However, the general consensus is that when one surpasses the age of 18, one becomes unable to learn to speak a foreign language like natives. Scientists say it is probably due to the fact that once one passes the age of 18, a certain part of one’s brain becomes significantly less active than before.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one can draw the conclusion that the government should place more value on the education of students at an early age. Nonetheless, it should be stressed that this argument is not to play down the indispensable role universities play in society. Finally, it is worth bearing in mind that this is a controversial issue that needs to be further studied so as to provide conclusive results unanimously accepted by all academicians. Therefore, I suggest that more surveys and studies be conducted to enable us to answer this question more precisely.