Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Advertising is the most important cause of unhealthy eating habits.

In the contemporary world, there is no doubt that advertisement has a significant influence on people's behavior and decision making, especially about food. Nevertheless, the controversial question which arises here is that whether it is the most potent cause for people's unhealthy eating habit or there are other justifications for this phenomena. As far as I am concern, advertisement merely is not the most important cause. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

First and foremost, the way children raise and how parents educate them to develope a healthy food habit is an essential factor of having a healthy or unhealthy diet. In other words, if parents teach their children of having a healthy nutrition plan and inhibit them from having low-nutrition dense foods, they will learn how to have a healthy diet. As a case in point, I had a friend whose mother did not usually cook food and they used to consume fast-food most of the time. She grew up without proper education about food and nutrition, hence, she had an unhealthy food habit. Had her parents taught her to eat healthy food, she would be aware of having a healthy food diet.

The second and equally important reason is that in today's world, due to the hectic and demanding lifestyle, people do not have time to prepare food and they get encouraged to consume unhealthy food as a result. In other words, considering people do not have sufficient time to cook, they tend to consume frozen and prepared food or fast-food which does not take a lot of time. For instance, I used to work for eight hours in an architectural firm. Then I used to go to the gym after work and buy a sandwich or a snack on my way home since I did not have time to make food.

In conclusion, all the enumerated reasons above converge to the point that advertisement solely is not the reason for people's unhealthy eating. Although there is no doubt advertising could have its effects on people, there are more significant prompts such as how individuals grow and how aware they are about healthy food. Besides, the hectic lifestyle demands people to invest less time making food and encourage them to be inclined to fast-food or prepared food.