Now children do not behave as well as the children did in the past. Which one of the following measures do you think can help children (age 5~10) behave better?

A. Control the time they spend on TV or movie

B. Take more time to chat with children

C. Monitor the interaction between children and their peers

In the contemporary world, children's behavior has altered and it has declined compared to the past. This was affected by so many reasons which is not the subject to talk about. However, it is controversial among people that what way they should take to lead their children towards a better attitude. Some people might believe that it is helpful to take more time to chat with children or monitor their interaction with their peers. Nevertheless, I believe that the best way is controlling the time that children spend watching TV. I will elaborate on my perspective in the following paragraphs.

First, in today's world, due to the hectic lifestyle, parents have less time to spend with children and allow them to watch TV. Therefore, they do not learn how to be socialized and they are absorbed by the fantasized, unrealistic world of TV programs and cartoons. In psychology, it has been proven the best age for children to learn new things is normally the age between 4 to 12. So, if children spend more time on TV they will never learn life skills like finding friends, communication, being responsible for their chores, play with their peers, etc. Hence, when they grow up they will face lots of predicaments in real life and they suffer from a lack of ability to solve problems.

The second and equally important reason is, watching TV has negative effects on children's behavior. Their innocent mind is not capable to discriminate what is good to learn and what is not. They have a flexible personality and absorb all the information like a sponge. So, if they watch horror movies or violent movies, or even cartoons, it directly affects their behavior and causes them to have disruptive personalities. To illustrate vividly, my younger brother, during his young ages was allowed to watch TV programs without having a boundary. Later he started to speak out loud or throwing things or being troublesome which he learned from TV. So, if he was controlled to watch TV, he would not have had disruptive behavior and being challenged.

In conclusion, In my opinion, parents must control their children for watching TV and teach them to play with their peers, how to communicate, and real-life skills to prepare them for the future and educate a healthy personality for society.