Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After high school, students should have at least one year to work or travel. It's better than attending university straight away.

Contemporary educators and parents have realized the importance of setting a goal in students' life, which is hugely significant for those who have graduated from high school. When it comes to their future development plans, some people believe that students should go to college as soon as they graduate from high school. On the contrary, I assert that traveling or working for a year may help prepare students for the university.

First, by traveling, students are capable of broadening horizons, which contributes to their future study and work. To be more specific, for students who have finished high school education, they were busy preparing the college Entrance Test, so that they have little chance to visit tourist attractions. however, there exists some knowledge which cannot be learned from books. Only after stepping on tourist attractions can one fully immerse himself in its real cultural surroundings. For example, visiting the Statue of Liberty in the U. S. after high school, I learned American's love and desire for freedom. I have indeed learned these from a history textbook, but one is the dull words, and another is the right feeling. after that travel, I made my mind one day I will go to the United States to chase for a job as I favor the free atmosphere there. Supposing after graduation, I stayed at home and have nowhere to go; I would end up with continuing a bachelor study in China as peers did. but now, I have started a fresh new journey in my life. Consequently, even a journey after high school is worthwhile, not to mention spending a whole year traveling, which I cannot imagine how huge the benefits it will bring to us.

Moreover, starting a job to see the realistic environment in society helps students figure out what skills and knowledge they need to learn in the future. No one can deny the fact that cooperation and communication are of great significance in this modern society. however, a first-year student could hardly realize this is important since they have no experience working with colleagues. they have learned from high school that they are immersing themselves in textbooks, memorizing the rigid points, and solving dull mathematical equations. In contrast, working in a company, even as an intern, enables students to share and learn relevant information they have got from different sources and personal perspectives, which is conducive for promoting a critical mind. Besides, through the brainstorming and exchanging brilliant ideas, students are capable of developing communication skills, which will be a treasure in their whole life.

In conclusion, from the reasons and examples above, I would reiterate my view that working or traveling for a year before entering the college is beneficial because it helps foster a broader outlook of this world and stimulate students to learn more.