Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? After high school,

students should have at least one year to work or travel. It's better than

attending university straight away.

Throughout history, students being under a chronic pressure in educational systems without experiencing the real world. These stresses can cause the most problematic issues in society which lead to different mental health conditions like social anxiety. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that students should not waste their time and they should enter academic medium immediately, whereas others hold exactly the opposite perspective. I personally contend that it is necessary for students to take some time off for themselves after high school. Three conspicuous reasons will cogently illustrate this perspective.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that, it is subtle that people that avoiding stressful environment are happier. There is no doubt being away from academic media would reduce pressure from students. If students want to have a vibrant life in future, they need to settle their minds before entering university. Meanwhile they can travel to be more relaxed. One of the drawbacks of entering academic environment instantly after high school is depression. As an illustration, take the example of one of the students at my university which she was an astute student and studied so hard to enter the best university in iran, but as soon as she entered to a new and bigger environment of the university she got depressed and could not find any meaning in her life anymore and as a consequence of her mental health, she committed suicide just after one semester, which was a big shock for us.

Another reason which should be taken into consideration is that most of the students do not have enough knowledge about what they want in life. One of the advantages of not attending university straight away and get a job or travel, would let them figure out their interests and make up their minds about their future. Generally speaking, there is a myriad professions in the world, which students can survey most of them to ascertain their favorite. In this case, some might find it meaningless to take academic courses. Besides, they find other ways to persuade their dreams. Taking my experience as an instance, I choose chemical engineering when I entered university, due to my high scores, and to be honest I did not have any perspective about this field and then after 3 years I figured out that I like computer engineering instead of chemical engineering and it was too late to change my field.

The last but not the least point to mention is that a major part of human’s life is based on experiences. All failures and successes that each one gain in life are the most worthwhile experience that they carry within themselves. Students which choose to get a job or traveling instead of attending university right after high school graduation can explore real life better and experiencing every bit of their moment which would led them to know their inner conscious. As a result, they can use these experiences later on at university. Psychologists have conducted many studies on first year students at university which indicated that those students that took at least one year off from studying were more mature and enthusiastic compare to others.

To wrap it all, all the aforementioned information lead us to an undeniable fact explaining that taking at least one year off right after high school graduation would let students to be happier and mature in different aspects. The whole essay was the story in a nutshell. In fact, there are a myriad of other reasons, supporting the above statement, which could be mentioned but are not embraced due to the dearth of time.