The main role of a university professor is to educate students rather than do research.

it has been a heated debate over the years on the topic that whether professors in college should focus on field research or teaching. some hold the opinion that it is preferable to encourage professors to conduct meaningful research and make breakthroughs. However, from my point of view, educating students contributes more to society than doing pure researches, the merits of which will be illustrated as follows.

students would get solid knowledge by professors' teaching. To state it more clearly, we are living in an age when the "jungle law " and the "survival of the fitness" rule prevail, which means if one college students have a wish to hunt a decent job in the future, he has to be fully prepared in both academic knowledge and practical skills due to the fierce competition. In this situation, solid knowledge in the professional field and well-developed skills obtained from professors constitute a stepping stone to their future success. Undoubtedly, students are more likely to be motivated and learn initiatively if the professor has enough time to communicate with students and care about them. Thus they can have a better understanding of their major. What is more, the professor cannot only instill knowledge in students but also teach them some practical skills which cannot be read from books. Such as management skills, public speaking skills, and to name a few. All these help lay a solid foundation for students' future careers, whether going to hunting a job or going further study. Consequently, there is every reason to believe that the professor plays a significant role in imparting knowledge.

In addition, it is imperative for professors to teach students moral values. students in college are not mature enough since they have not experienced many things in life. Sometimes they can be easily misguided. In this circumstance, necessary moral values teaching from professors are of great importance. On the one hand, valid values like honesty, modesty, and bravery exert a positive effect on their daily lives. Polite students will leave a favorable impression on interviewers and employers, while honest students are more likely to build a strong relationship with others to expand their social network. On the other hand, university students are more likely to go astray without the right values, which poses a threat to social stability and security.

it is true that doing research paving the way for professions to achieve professional success and contributes to the school's fame. we can not overlook the fact that the priority for educators and schools is to cultivate students to be morally sound and literate citizens. As for professors' fame and career, this is not as crucial as education itself.