Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All children should be required to take a foreign language class from the time they start school until they begin university. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Language is a window of the world where the ability to master them, facilitated kids to explore every corner of the earth. Although some people think it will do harm more than good. Based on my experience, I agree with the statement. I believe children should learn a foreign language as early as they could.

First and foremost, when kids learn a foreign language, the skill give them added value to compete in a global market. This may not fit for a country with English as a native language. However, in a non-English based country, this skill is required to get a decent job and pursue a higher education. My own journey proofed this. For example, English is one of the essential subjects from elementary school to secondary school. It also a part of our university entrance exam, to get an admission to a prestigious school we need to excel in grammar and vocabulary. As a child who grew up in Indonesia, the capability to commence in English and learning it at such a young age would benefit me immensely.

Second, a fluency in a foreign language also encourages people to travel. By mastering the language, there is less fear of misunderstanding in a new country. For instance, someone who speaks English most likely travels and study outside of their hometown.

Lastly, additional subject also gives kids or teenager more study load thus prevent them to waste their time in negative activities such as using drugs or drinking alcohol. Of course, it will also dwindle their free time, but the additional lesson will enhance their language profess and practice their both sides of the brain equally. Most of the kids who polyglot, excelled in school and less inclined to have law conviction.

Forcing kids to learn a new language seems harsh and unnecessary. However, based on all stated reason, I personally believe that learning a foreign language since young is essential to their development and future.