Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All high school students should be required to have three years of studying a foreign language.

Nowadays, institutions all over the world emphasize more on learning language skills. High schools must make it mandatory for their pupils to study a foreign language for three years. In my opinion, I disagree with the compulsion of three years of foreign language learning. I feel this way for two reason, which I will elaborate in this essay

Firstly, students are overwhelmed with the burden of school curriculum. It becomes very difficult for them to spare time for a foreign language. Moreover, learning a new language needs dedication and commitment towards the language. For instance, when I was in high school, school authorities made it a compulsion for us to learn Spanish. I had to struggle a lot with the language. I was unable to get a grip on the language as I did not have enough time for it. Eventually, it reflected on my grades and at the end, I was very disappointed.

Secondly, academic tuitions for a foreign language for three years will increase financial burden on parents. It will create an imbalance in the budget regarding education. Additionally, this might lead to wrong investment which might not be necessary for the student. Learning urdu in high school, for example, it did not help me in anyways. Moreover, I should have spent money on learning computer skill, which is essential nowadays.

To conclude, learning a foreign language for three years is a waste of time and resources. For this two reasons I disagree with the statement that all high school student should be required to have three years of studying a foreign language