Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

Some people hold the opinion that history courses should be set compulsory for all university students to learn. They claim the courses help the young be familiar with the human society and civilization’s development. In my opinion, damanding all the students to take history class can cause both academic and financial problems.

First of all, learning history courses put extra pressure on students. Nowadays, students have already havd to learn many theories and professional knowledge and their schedules are tight. As in the case of my brother, he is a university student majors in finance. His day is fulfilled by different major classes. At night, he stays up late to finish his homework and essays. He can’t take a breath even on weekends, for he needs to do some research with his mentor. Under such circumstance, he can hardly handle his own classes, not to mention the history lesson.

A required history course would lead to unnecessary cost for parents and students. To guarantee the quality of lecturing, colleges have to hire talented and senior history professors and experts, such as those from the best-known universities or history research institutes. This would increase the cost of schooling. Normally, a lecture given by a famous history professor costs over 1,000 dollars. These costs would be reflected in the tuition fee, and would deprive many underprivileged students of an opportunity for education.

Admittedly, taking history courses does bring students many benefits. Students gain knowledge from the past and avoid making same mistakes. From comparing now and past, they can also get a better understanding on what’s happening around the world. However, this knowledge could be acquired by other method other than required courses. History seminars, TV documentaries and books are all available options for student to learn about history.

To conclude, though there are small benefits delivered by history courses, making it compulsory for every student to learn history isn’t a wise decision. As my favorite quote from James Madison goes, as long as the reason of man continues fallible, different opinions will be formed, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.