Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Mandating history courses to every college student regardless of their majors is considered to foster the improvement of general knowledge. I completely agree that this would be beneficial for most students. I feel this way for two reasons which I will examine in this essay.

First, it is important to consider that history classes would help students learn from other people's mistakes. Obviously, if students do not take history courses, they only adopt a limited way of thinking. In contrast, if they learned from the past, they would necessarily get an opportunity to know how people in the past interacted with their obstacles. As a result, students would improve their problem-solving strategies. For example, I took some history lectures at university, where I learned a lot about ancient people and their civilizations, empires, and wars. At the end of my studies, I realized that I had learned much about facing my problems, looking differently at any dilemma, and finding the best solution. Furthermore, I managed to become more impartial as a decision-maker. Hence, taking history courses not only helped me to comprehend problem-solving skills but also enabled me to develop into a rational decision-making capability.

Besides the importance of learning from others' mistakes, another significant reason is that students should know about their heritage. Evidently, if students do not understand their origin, they will not manage their future. Therefore, teaching history courses would encourage students to know how their ancestors found, developed, and lived. This is best demonstrated by my personal experience. My mother told me that we originate from Europe while our family lived in North Africa for a long time. I tried to visit my extended family in Europe, and when I met them, I felt that I had strong roots that extended over a big area of land.

In conclusion, based on the argument explored above, I believe that history lectures should be required in schools. This opinion is because knowing history would enable students to think more precisely as they would learn from others’ mistakes and would also aid them in discovering their heritages.