Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Almost everyone agrees that enjoying our time is a great way to ensure a more prosperous life. But do people nowadays use much time to adore their lives rather than doing pieces of stuff that are necessary for a living? Many people assume that we are conspicuously forced to look at our future and quit enjoying things. However, it would be prudent to say that people now are concerned with things that help them indulge their moments. I feel this way for two reasons which I will examine in this essay.

First, it is important to consider social media's effect. Obviously, with the great spread of social media, it is clear that most of us get trapped in a variety of things that encourage us to have fun. In contrast, a long time ago, when our grandparents were not exposed to any type of social media, they were free to practice their favorite activities and enjoy their time in simple ways. As a result, our technological societies have been a factor that pushed us to learn about many new things. My personal experience can demonstrate this. I love social media apps; I spend a significant time daily watching my favorite apps, such as Instagram, Snapchat, and Facebook. Although most of the activities and events that I heard about were in other countries, I was very interested in joining these events and traveled many times to watch them and have nice memories. Therefore, due to social media's impact, I joined many fun activities that I never knew about. Hence, if I had not been interested in following social media, I would not have known about these events.

Besides the importance of media, another significant reason is that our contemporary communities put us under huge stress. Evidently, it is not easy today to live independently from our families where it costs a lot to rent a house, get medical insurance, and study at one of the universities with a good reputation. As a result, most people try to enjoy their life and spend many days for fun to counteract the effect of this stressful life. For instance, there is a great increase in the number of gyms, clubs, and events places that would help most of us have a nice time. Consequently, if our life had not been stressful, we would not have spent extended time looking for fun.

In conclusion, I believe that nowadays people spend a lot of time on things that lead to enjoyment. This opinion is because of the huge effect of social media advertising many events and because most people want to get rid of their tension.