Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both advantages and disadvantages to requiring the students to take history courses regardless of the field that they study in. I am of the opinion that there are huge benefits to making the students take history classes due to several reasons. I will be explaining these reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, it is my firm belief that everyone should know about the history of the country that they live in, along with some brief information about the other countries histories. I believe that this would result in students becoming more understanding of each other, due to having some information about each other countries, regardless of where they come from. This would lead to an understanding, warm environment. Additionally, it would help the students to become more open-minded due to all the different cultures they have learned in the history class. For example, a student from Syria and a student from Israel would be more open to learning more about each others cultures, due to the previous knowledge they have obtained about each others countries in the history classes. I, for one, would love to be part of an environment of this kind.

Secondly, I believe that it is important for every student to take history classes because it would prevent them from making the same errors done by their previous leaders. If every student were take history classes regardless of their fields, it would help them notice similar mistakes done by their current administration. This would allow them to take action and warn their leaders and the general population before such a grave mistake is repeated. For instance, in my country, it is taught to us in the history class that our leader at the time signed an agreement which led to the division and invasion of our country. I am aware of this thanks to the history classes I have taken, and if a similar situation were to arise, I would be able to foresee the consequences of such an arrangement.

To sum it up, I believe that every student should partake in history classes, because it would help them be more understanding and kind towards each other. And it would also help them perceive the mistakes done by their leader or president, due to the knowledge of the previous mistakes.