Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

It is widely known that history, which is associated with nation and races tightly, is a very important subject for anyone to understand our past, present, and future. An absense of knowledge in history would not only lead to repeats of our failures, but also gaps in our awareness of our cultural and species. Nowadays, nearly all high schools and primary schools tend to require students to take history courses. Some people even assumes that history courses are necessary for all university students. However, are history courses really generating substantial differences in higher education? Quite contrary to the common idea of forcing history learnings, I believe that university students shouldn’t be required to take history courses for two main reasons.

Firstly, many university students don't need advanced history knowledge. Granted, knowing certain historical events and common backgrounds would be important in tracing back to our roots, there’s many other things that college students should focus on during their extensive academic pursuits. Actually, for most students, university is the place where they learn career-building skills and career-based knowledge. general knowledge should be electives, which means that most university history courses provided at advanced levels should be available to students that are associated with the major, or those that are extremely interested. With that regard, students could get general history knowledge from their pre-undergraduate studies, which might be very likely to have little contribution to their college major. For instance, as an university student who’s majoring in biology, I have found advanced not as practical. my knowledge of history learned before college is enough for my daily life, whether it’s talking with others about history events or knowing how to celebrate a holiday. For my academics, since biology is updated very quickly, I need to consistently delve into the up-to-date biology papers and materials. even the history of biology could not help our research, since the research methods have changed drastically in recent years.

Moreover, history courses could easily consume the students’ time and money. In order to supply students with decent education and well-designed courses, universities need a large amount of money, therefore most universities’ tuitions are expensive. Additionally, university courses are often held high standards, which means that enrolled students must spend certain amount of time to catch up with the learning materials and assignments. since university students are always busy with a variety of academic tasks, student activities, and even part-time jobs to relieve financial burdens, students would very likely to be annoyed by the education expenses. The addition of required history courses would be an unwise and inconsiderate idea. Imagine there is a student who is majoring in technology and is required to take history courses by the university. The student would be not only facing more workload but also more financial pressure, which might lead anger, anxieties, depression and other issues that many college students are facing. Despite the mental struggles, an unwilling student would definitely not learn much from the course besides wasting all the time and money.

In conclusion, while history courses are vital to our cultural and lives, the requirement of general historical should be implemented throughout primary school to high school. While university students should pursue they academic and career interests that would pay back their enormous investments.