Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is crystal clear that honesty is one of the most important factors in strengthening the relationship between people. But it is vital that we always tell the truth in our relationships? Although some people think that always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship, I firmly contented that sometimes telling the lie is of better consequences in the relationship. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most important reasons.

To begin with, telling small lies can sometimes motivate the people who their progress is important to us. Indeed, in some significant situation such as an important competition or exam, lying about people’s ability improves their confidence and decrease their anxiety. They are encouraged to make an effort with more incentive as well. Therefore, they perform well at the end. To exemplify, my brother decided to enroll in an art school entrance exam last year. I believed that he was not ready for the exam and needed more practice, but I wanted him to feel confident about his ability. I lied to him that he just needed to control his stress during the exam to succeed. However He was not accepted, one of the teachers admired him for his confidence and decided to give him another chance. Had I told him what I really thought, he might have given up and might have not tried enough.

Another reason which deserves some words is that some unpleasant truths hurt people’s feelings and it may lead to breaking up a long-term relationship. In other words, in some circumstances, some small lies not only do not have bad results but also satisfy people about themselves. Also, we respect other people’s tastes and attitudes with some kinds of lies. For instance, I had been invited to my friend’s birthday party. She had worn a cloth which did not suit her and I thought that she could choose a better one. When she asked me about her cloth, I said “you look great in this cloth.” If I had said my real opinion about her cloth, she would have been upset and might have not enjoyed her birthday.

To top off the discussion, according to the reasons mentioned above, although being honest is one of the most important factors in any relationship, but sometimes not telling the truth is the best way to respect people’s attitudes and feelings. Moreover, with small lies, we can maintain our long-term relationships and give people a feeling of confidence about both themselves and their abilities.