Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people argue that always telling the truth can jeopardize your relationships as it has its own drawbacks. People find it easy to disguise their flaws by not telling the truth. However, I strongly disagree with these people and believe that always telling truth is the backbone of any relationship. I will support my viewpoint with three reasons.

First of all, truth keeps any relationship binded forever. It acts to be the basic building block of any relationship. Concealing the truth can only jeopardize the connection between the two people. When a person completely trust it’s partner it shows how much they believe in the roots of their relationship. For example, a friend of mine was recently invited at a party there he met and bonded with new people. Few months later on my birthday when I had hosted a party, I invited him. However, he made some excuse. Suddenly few days later I met a common friend of ours who made me aware of the fact that on my birthday my friend was out their roaming and partying with his new friends. How much ever heart wrenching this incident was it left me flabbergasted and made me realize my importance in his life. lying to me sacrificing and our seven year friendship for his new friends whom he met just months ago had taken me aback. Hence, it shows how much important it is to have trustworthy people around you to have a peaceful and calm life.

Secondly, every parent child relationship should be honest. There should be proper communication between one another. If the child lies it breaks the confidence or trust that parents hold towards their child. For example, A friend of mine had lied to her parents for going on a trip with her college friends as she thought her parents would not give her permission to go. When they later got to know the truth they very furious. Such incidents often inculcate feeling of dishonesty towards the child. Henceforth, its difficult for them to trust their child easily. It’s certainly clear to see why one should not lie as the consequences aren’t good and can ruin your relationship with anyone.

Though some people would agree that lying sometimes may seem like an easy solution however it’s not the best of behavior. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that telling truth is better than hiding several lies, how much ever hard it is to be honest but it’s far better than to risk our long-term relationship.