All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this fast, growing, competitive world every company wants their work to be unique and best from others. In this race to achieve success companies try implementing different methods, changing strategies in order to achieve a significant outcome. The prompt recommends that companies should not consider outside consultants and spend time listening to their employees itself. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion, seeking an outside help can result in varying outcomes for three reasons.

To begin, sometimes coming from different countries, cultural backgrounds having a different approach towards the same issues can result in increasing the efficiency of the company. Consultants can bring a fresh, new perspective for the companies well being and success that the employees might not have expertise in the market analysis. For instance, an employee is hired because of his knowledge and expertise in a particular department while not having the expertise in the company’s operation, moreover employees are more concerned towards the job assigned to them rather than thinking for the company’s marketing or operational section. Employees are more bound in completing their daily targets and benefiting the company in their ways. The above example illustrates that a much creative and ingenious approach provided by outside minds that is the consultants can bring many modifications in surpassing the success of other companies.

Further, considering the burden work that each employee faces in todays job is quite higher which constraints them to look after their work. On the top of this if an employee is expected to not only complete their tasks on time but also help the company in strategical decisions this seems very tiring. Thus, hiring a consultant play a crucial role in dividing the work of the employees. For instance, an employee works diligently from morning to evening, and is totally engrossed in achieving his or her targets above this a company adds their schedule with additional work this may cause in an increase work load and stress hence, affecting the health of an employee because of which he or she might change their job resulting in an increase in the number of employees leaving which would in return affect the efficiency of the compny. The above example demonstrates that the requirement of consultants to help divide the company’s work is necessary.

Lastly, its important to consider that a consultant will be more dispassionate in taking decisions. He or she will be beneficial for the com[any as they don’t belong to it and hence are paid to suggest policies which is in favor to everyone and not targeting any single group. For example, its human nature to think in favor of oneself and not wholly in the benefit of the company. Such employees who have a partisan approach are often the reason for the deteriorating company’s reputation in the outside market. Hence the example illustrates that the success and reputation of the company is well in hands of someone handling it evenhandedly.

Of course, some argue that employees whose been working for years in the company have better understanding and are more familiar with the company’s past records. However, isn’t this the reason why few companies look quite ordinary because of following the same old approach for years. Companies who spend in hiring consultants have an edge towards their competitors in the outside market.