Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Because our society today is just so busy and crowded, we should not expect people to be polite to one another.

No one can deny the fact that today’s society is fast-paced, which leads many to believe that people should not have the expectation of others being polite to each other. In my opinion, this is reasonably true because we should first behave mannerly before wanting others to be polite to us, and also, politeness is merely one way of social interaction and does not have any concrete meaning in deciding whether a person is good or not.

To begin with, one should first demonstrate politeness to others if one wishes to be treated politely because the show of politeness is reciprocal. Because today’s society is somewhat indifferent, most people would only reflect on what they receive and show them in their behavior. In other words, when people receive politeness, respect, or kindness, they would be more likely to act out these merits and influence others in this way. Therefore, anyone who desires others to be polite should be the one doing this as an example. For example, I always wanted to live in a world of politeness, so I showed politeness to others. As time passed, I found out that not only had I influenced people around me, like my neighbors, into more polite people, but I had also created happy moments for strangers. If I had just wanted other people to be more polite without actually taking any action, I would not have been able to change the world around me into what I what.

Moreover, even though it is generally good that people are polite to each other, it is only a lifestyle that has no actual meaning in telling whether a person is virtuous or vices. A person can have the best behavior and still do many evil deeds, while a seemingly rude and ribald person can be warm and helpful. Thus, there is no necessity to expect people to be polite to each other. For example, my mother and I went on a group trip several years ago, and in that group, there was a woman who constantly spat gum on the floor, which was quite impolite in our eyes, so we had a bad impression of her. However, when we needed help in lifting heavy packages, she was actually very willing to provide help. This event totally changed how my mother and I viewed the importance of politeness and taught us a great lesson.

In conclusion, it is unnecessary to expect others to be polite because people should first change their behavior before expecting others, and politeness is not an essential measurement.