Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Many people nowadays spend too much money on their pets (dogs, cats, or other animals), although there are better uses for their money.

It is critically important for people to make good use of the money they have, and as people’s lives are generally getting better and wealthier, more and more people spend money on pets, which leads many believing people have spent too much on pets. In my opinion, however, this statement is not true because, for many people, pets bring them comfort and make them healthier, and spending money on pets, although sometimes may cost much, doesn’t necessarily mean people don’t spend money on other important things.

To begin with, it is a generally known fact that pets bring comfort to people and help release pressure. We now live in a fast-paced society where there are constant changes, and people are asked to learn and ace more skills, which is a burden to many people; pets help release those pressure and make people more healthy mentally. Certainly, these benefits outweigh the money people spend on pets. For example, my older brother was depressed and confused after graduating from college because he was unsure what he should do as a career, and graduating was a massive change for him. To give him some accompaniment, we bought him a dog, which has really helped comfort and cheered him up quickly. This example clearly demonstrates although the cost of having a pet might be high, the benefits are definitely worth the price.

Moreover, spending money on pets doesn’t mean people don’t and can’t spend money elsewhere simultaneously. There are many things that people need to spend on food, clothes, supporting family, etc. Spending money on pets is simply a way of using cash, which will not negatively affect people’s lives since nobody is going to ignore the other essentials. For example, most people in my cities have pets, and they still live like anyone else in this world. Spending money on necessities and having pets will not affect their lives differently from others. There is no point in saying there is a better use of cash elsewhere because people are using the money elsewhere and on pets at the same time.

In conclusion, people nowadays are not spending excessive money on pets because pets are worth the cost and it is not like people only spend money on pets.