Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should spend most of their time on studying and playing, and they shouldn’t be required to help family with household chores, such as cleaning and cooking.

Household chores are inevitable but troublesome tasks. Some think children should spend time on playing and studying, while others argue that children should help the family with doing chores. To me, I am the side of the latter.

First, through doing household chores, children can learn many things. Cooking and cleaning and other chores are inevitable for living. If children can learn the life skills at an early stage, they could invent for their future independent life. Children can help parents making dinner and simultaneously, learn from their parents how to cook. Also, they can learn the importance of cleaning room through doing chores. Since teachers in schools do not teach students how to do household chores, they should spend more time on doing chores at home and learn important life skills. For example, my teacher is very good at cooking. He always helped his parents cooking when he was a child. Hence, now he can cook more than a hundred varieties of meals. This shows that children can learn life skills through helping chores and can invent for their future life.

Second, helping family can improve the relationships between children and parents. Most parents have to work in companies and also have to prepare dinner for their family at home even if they are exhausted. Thereat, if children can do chores for parents, can let parents releasing stress and reducing their tasks. Obviously, parents will be extremely delighted and appreciate their children. Furthermore, during helping chores with parents such as cooking, children can talk with parents about their school life. For instance, if children have a problem, they can ask their parents for advice when they are preparing dinner. Doing chores together can provide children more opportunities to have communication. It is natural that communication can strengthen the relationship. In addition, children can relieve their stress that comes from school pressure or bullying. If parents and children can have more communication, parents will recognize the problems facing children and deal with the problems. Therefore, by doing chores instead of parents or with parents, the relationships between children and parents can be vastly improved. By contrast, if parents allow children studying or playing for a long time, they would have barely opportunities to communicate. Parents cannot know enough about children’s problems and children will have to deal with the problems by themselves.

Undeniably, some might think playing and studying are more important than doing chores. It is true that both of them can provide better school life. However, not only children but also parents benefit from doing chores by children. Hence, I think students should be required to help the family with household chores.