Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Children should spend most of their time studying or playing; they should not be required to help the family with household chores, such as cooking etc.

Seldom are children involved in doing housework, either because they are occupied with acquiring knowledge and having fun playing various games, or because their parents want to avoid chaos or dangers. This is not desirable. As a matter of fact, it is in children’s best interest to spend some time doing housework.

Children are prone to misbehave. While we expect them to help with housework, we should be aware that since they are too young to be capable, they may bring more troubles than useful aids. In addition, with a majority of time allotted to knowledge acquisition and amusements, children may be better prepared for their future study and may feel delighted. However, it makes no sense for parents or caregivers to stop children from doing housework. In fact, children are actually learning while doing household chores.

Troubles are inevitable, but can children learn a lesson from them? The answer is surely positive. Take cooking, a typical household chore, as an example. Children are highly likely to cut their finger while chopping meat due to their poor eye-hand coordination. However, after feeling how hurt it is to be cut by knife, they will learn the fact that knife is a hazard instead of a toy. This is an advantage of housework because only reading or hearing about the threat of knives plays a small role in keeping them away from it. In other words, children may never truly understand some concepts in books or warnings from caregivers unless personally experienced it.

Besides, chores should be assigned for other purposes like instilling responsibility in children. As is known, a responsible man is able to study independently and stay safe when playing. Without seeing how much upkeep and work goes into running a house, how are children meant to develop a sense of duty towards the mess, and how could they be expected to be responsible for their own safety? On the contrary, if involved in doing household chores, they will slowly and subconsciously become more aware of what mess they leave around, thus feeling responsible for such mess. I am personally convinced of this point, as I had similar experience before, when I was a child who would leave my toys about. I didn’t form the habit of putting away my toys until my parents asked me to be responsible for doing it. With such habits cultivated, my sense of responsibility is largely strengthened, and such traits are transferred into other life events and situations like study and play.

At this point, it is crystal clear that important as studying or playing is, children should still devote time to undertaking some chores to learn from the potential mistakes and to develop a sense of duty.