Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The consumption of foods and drinks high in salt and sugar causes harm to people's future health, so government should tax these foods to reduce their sales.

Our health is the most precious asset of our life, so it should be our highest priority. However, nowadays, most people neglect their health and incline towards consuming unhealthy food. In this regard, some people contend that government should impose taxes on unhealthy foods, so that it may deter public from eating food that is unhealthy for our body. But, personally, I believe this taxation wouldn’t be as effective as expected. This is due to two major reasons, which I will be discussing in the following paragraphs to substantiate my stance.

First, increasing taxes on food items would not create much distinct difference in reality. The increased cost of goods in this scenario would be little because the government is unable to impose taxes on a high level due to the negative impacts on all other consumable food stuffs and the food-selling enterprise. Hence, due to this people will continue to consuming them. To elucidate this further, children are good example for this situation. As they are unaware of derogatory effects of eating junk food, they wouldn’t stop having these types of foods and its increased price wouldn’t concern them a lot.

Second, in the recent years, our lifestyle has become more sedentary, due to which we hardly have much time to go to the kitchen and cook healthy food. Instead, for our own ease, we prefer to grab processed or packaged food. For instance, we always like to have soft drinks which are having high sugar content, in combination of with snacks. Therefore, it is less likely that we will be discontinuing this habit even if these products are taxed.

In conclusion, I would reaffirm my point that taxing foods that are harmful for our health will not be useful at all. This is because people would not deter from consuming these unhealthy food stuff as they wouldn’t consider their higher prices and are highly dependent on easily accessible items, which is difficult to change now. Consequently, due to the aforementioned reasons I believe that this taxation strategy is not a wise choice.