One should never burrow money from a friend, this is not good for their relationship.

People constantly over estimate the depth of relationships when money enters into equation. Many people may debate this point, arguing that true friendship should be strong enough to withstand any undue influence. However, as people are becoming more self-centered, I believe that borrowing money from a friend can only harm or irrevocably damage a friendship. That’s why I believe this is a bad idea and I have mainly two points to substantiate my viewpoint, which I will elaborate in following paragraphs.

First, burrowing money from a friend can destroy the trust that has been built up. Friendship is built on the trust of a stranger and this is completely different from family relations. These relationships are quite fragile, regardless of the fact that whether they have been built up for several years or just beginning. The trust can be destroyed in a single instance of broken promise to repay the loan. For instance, in high school, I lent some amount of money to someone as he told me that his mother was sick and he needs money for her treatment. I later found that he used that money to pay his due bills at five star restaurant where he offered a date to his girlfriend. I was very angry to find out that he manipulated me, after this incident I never spoke to that person again.

Second, money and friendship just don’t mix so it would be wise not to lend or borrow money either to or from friends because this will cause conflicts. The borrower who is behind on his payments doesn’t feel the transaction is hurting the friendship but this is not what the lender feel. Lender is more anxious than borrower in this case, as he anticipates to receive money but when he doesn’t receive it, he begins to doubt the borrower that he will never return the money. A few days ago, I borrowed hundred dollars from one of my friends because I was not having cash at that time. After some time it skipped out of my mind that I have to return money to my friend. Later, when he asked for his money I returned him immediately. Now whenever I meet him at class, he seems to avoid me. As a result we are no longer friends now. So, I lost one of my friends owing to misunderstanding. I think we all have tendency to look into things in a way that makes us feel better about ourselves and this is exactly what is causing trouble.

In conclusion, people may occasionally need to borrow money to cover unexpected expenses, I believe borrowing money from a friend is wrong decision. This can ruin true friendship due to the trust that he being broken on not repaying the loan and people feel uncomfortable lending money. So to avoid relationship getting broken due to possible conflicts that may occur between two friends, it is not advisable to lend or borrow money from a friend.