Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Economy growth should not be slowed down by concerns about environment

One of the most important social development is the economic growth. It can be said that without economy, the society cannot grow rapidly. However, nowadays there are more and more people appealing that economy growth should be slowed down because of some environmental concerns. From my point of view, I think the point mentioned above is questionable for the following reasons.

To begin with, economic growth actually facilitates and encourages new ways of environment protection. Many people nowadays may hold the view that with the economic growth, factories and heavy industries will be built to adapt to the rapid growth of market. They think that this would seriously contaminate the air and release greenhouse gasses and inhalable particles into the atmosphere. Nevertheless, it should be noted that the growth of the economy promotes innovation and boost the development of science and technology. With the basis of funding come from economic growth, scientists are supported by the government to exploit new ways to improve the environment.

In addition, the development of a society cannot accomplish without the help of economy. It is not exaggerated to say that economy is just like the heart of the society. Without the growth of economy, human will live a life just like primitive tribe. It costs about 1 million years for humans to transform from the hunter-gathering lifestyle to sedimentary lifestyle and 100 years to transform from the first industrial revolution to the second one. As your can see, economic growth promotes and accelerates the progress of human development and evolution, even though it has some side effects on the environment. As a result, if a society wants to thrive and prosper, it should put the economic growth in the first place.

In a nutshell, based on the reasons that the rapid growth of economy facilitates and encourages new ways of environmental protection and society development cannot leave without the help of economic growth, I strongly disagree that economy should be slowed down by concerns about environment.