Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Getting advice from friends who are older than you is more valuable than getting advice from friends your same age.

Modern life is quite complicated, and people will seek advice from others from time to time. In my opinion, older friends can give more valuable advice than peers.

First, older people have better judgments. With more years lived, they are likely to have faced many different situations. These experiences grow with age, which means younger people might have never thoroughly thought about them. For example, when people need to decide which university to attend, older friends might help them look at more pragmatic perspectives, such as tuition fees or employment opportunities after graduation. However, younger friends might overlook many of these factors, resulting in regrettable consequences. Imagine taking the advice from peers and going to a university with a good ranking only to realize that its tuition would take decades to repay. Consulting advice from older friends who are more experienced in life can help people avoid troubles like this.

Second, older friends are good at communicating ideas, making their suggestions easily understandable. Everyone socializes. And as people grow old, they will inevitably become more skilled at socializing with others. To be more specific, when spending more time interacting with others, people will become more sophisticated at communicating ideas. Therefore, older people can convey ideas to others more effectively than younger people. And this can be important when offering sensitive advice. For example, when telling others what they have done wrong, many people will immediately become defensive even though they sometimes know they are wrong. Compared to younger friends, older people are more likely to be aware of this resistance and would protect the listener’s feelings by picking insensitive words or less blunt language. And when the listener does not feel offended, they are more willing to listen to other people’s advice.

In conclusion, older friends can make more pragmatic suggestions and communicate them more effectively.