Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A good leader should spend more time listening to other people's ideas than taking his or her own ideas.

A good leadership is an integral part of a successful business. The question is, however, what is the distinctive characteristic of a good leader. There is controversy as to whether or not a good leader should spend time to listen to other people’s ideas than thinking only of his or her own ideas. I strongly agree with the statement and I firmly believe that the skill of listening is an essential part of a good leader characteristic and my reasons for this advocacy are as follows.

To begin with, so crucial is the listening skill for a leader that it plays a colossally significant role in the quality of a leader performance. In fact, the ability to listening to others’ ideas determines a leader’s influence, and eventually his or her success in their business. A leader beings a good and active listener encourages his or her employees to share their ideas with others and it is crystal clear that two brain is much better than one brain! One the other hand, if their employees know that their leader does not care about their ideas, they will not share them and it is not hard to imagine if their idea is of great value and innovation, where this business will be leaded—surely, to not success and prosperity. It may be claim that a leader experience and knowledge is enough for a business to be successful; on the contrary, being knowledgeable and experienced, indeed, help a leader to come up with the best decision about how to deal with employees’ idea’s to best exploit these ideas—it is the sheer teamwork.

Moreover, being a good listener is of great importance for a leader in order to maintain a solid relationship between employees, and thereby improving the workplace atmosphere. By listening to their employees’ ideas and plans, in fact, leaders imply that their employees are valuable assets of their business and they appreciate them. By listening with an empathetic ear and caring genuinely to their employees with open-mindedness and without trying to judge their ideas at the first step, leaders can establish a quality relationship. Employees can thrive in this situation and become more enthusiastic and energetic than before—this in long run results not only the success of a business, but also the prosperity of a society.

To sum up, with all this taken into account, as far as I am concerned, a ‘good leader’ is a good listener mainly due to the fact that being a good listener helps a business to push the envelope more than the situation in which the leaders is the only ‘master-mind’ as well as it helps to improve the office environment in an excellent manner.