Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A good leader should spend more time listening to other people's ideas than taking his or her own ideas.

A controversy is often raised about the qualities of a good leader. Some groups of people hold the view that a good leader should implement is own ideas and thoughts. However, others may hold a different view and feel that a good leader should listen to others before taking action. From my vantage point I concur the latter groups and feel that leaders should listen to others because of the following reason.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that a good listener leader increases employees' productivity. An active listener leader can understand what the fierce conservation author Susan scott describes as " the ground truth" which enables leader to understand what is going on behind the scene. Without active listening leaders may lose connection with the employees.This will ultimately results in loss of trust, low employees engagement, and eventually loss of productivity. A vivid example which illustrate by view the experience I had in my previous job, Because of the wisdom of my manager and his open minded personality, I was able to excel in my work.

However, there are many other benefits to listening. No one person including the manager has all the answers, especially in today complex business environment, but the one thing that everybody agrees on is that active listener leaders enhances cooperation between team members. In other words, active listening can create synergy between team members. Thus, instead of every employee work on his own to solve problems, the whole organization would benefit to reach its goals.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first to cross my mind at a glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle reason available. The noteworthy, refreshing, intelligible results of the study published in the American business Journal which showed that active listener leaders bring significant profits to their organizations. The study was conducted on 120 organization of different sectors inorder to prevent bias.

Contemplating the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that organizations without active listener leaders have a lot to lose. Loss of employees productivity, loss of profits, and loss of team work are only a few examples.