Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should add taxes to unhealthy foods to improve people’s health. Use details and examples to support your opinion.

Is it really viable to increase taxes on fast foods to improve people's health? In my opinion, this will be counter-productive for the government. The statement not only overlooks the other factors that may affect people's health, but also it may have repercussions on the economy, and global relations. I will elaborate on these points in the following essay.

To begin with, most developing countries do not have their own fast-food chain companies. For instance, in a country like India where almost all popular fast food chains such as Mcdonald's, KFC, Subway, Taco Bell, etc. are foreign brands, it is not at all justifiable to increase taxes on fast foods. This may result in loss or decreased profits to the extent that it may not seem viable to do business in that country. If that happens, and even some of these companies shut their business, the government will lose the monetary gains it was getting as taxes. Therefore, there is a possibility of monetary loss for the government itself. In addition to that, it may give a wrong impression of fewer business opportunities in the food sector for the respective nation.

Secondly, how do we know that increasing taxes on fast foods will stop people from buying and eating the same? The desired result is based on the assumption that people will stop purchasing and eating fast foods once the taxes are increased. Some of these foods are available in the market at really low prices, and increasing tax by some percentage will not prevent people from eating it for sure. Also, one must consider the other factors affecting people's health. Lack of exercise, a lazy lifestyle, and even overuse of oil, butter, etc. in homemade food may be the reason for bad health. Keeping this in mind, it is entirely possible that if people stop eating fast food so frequently, still it may not have any significant impact on their health.

Some may argue that increasing taxes on fast foods would surely decrease the frequency with which people eat outside. However, one cannot forget the low prices of many unhealthy food items available in the market. Moreover, fast foods that are not affordable to the lower class of the country, but not a big deal for the middle and upper class are not going to make any difference even with increased taxes.

To sum up, increasing taxes on fast foods is not at all a good idea if improved public health is the desired goal. Considering the possible monetary losses that the government may have to face, the inherent assumption of the argument that people will stop eating junk food if the said policy is implemented, and other factors that may have a direct and adverse effect on public health, the idea proposed by the author seems indefensible.