The effectiveness of a country’s leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country’s citizens.

The author contends that the well-being of the country's citizens is the best way to measure the effectiveness of a country's leaders, and I concur with this. It is onerous and prone to errors to measure society's well-being based on social and economic equality, physical well-being and security, civil rights and liberties, and the extent to which they are being exercised. Therefore, one crucial factor would be economic growth.

To begin with, countries that suffer from poverty and other social dilemmas are one of the lowest-growing economies in the world. Economic growth is directly related to the effectiveness of the country's leaders and thus, the well-being of the general populace. However, in developing countries like India, the economic growth is pretty high, but there are widespread disparities and ills that plague society. Growth is often achieved at the expense of inequality, increased rates of unemployment, and the death of local resources. A leader with such a myopic vision cannot be considered effective.

Leaders are remembered for the changes they effected for the welfare of the general population and the struggles they pioneered on behalf of citizens. For instance, Abraham Lincoln and Nelson Mandela are considered effective leaders for their sacrifices and ideology pertaining to the well-being of the people of their respective countries. However, take the example of Saddam Hussain or Muammar Gaddafi. In the 1980s, Libya has higher per capita income than some of the developed countries. However, the lack of freedom and stringent surveillance under which the Libyans lived cannot be considered as well-being, nor can Gaddafi be called an effective leader.

For the overall well-being of the people, it is imperative that freedom of speech and expression, right to equal opportunities, and non-discrimination are protected. In the absence of these liberties, thoughts and ideologies cannot thrive. It is crucial to note the progress made by citizens in their respective fields to measure the well-being of all. The achievements of people in various spheres of life can be considered as a yardstick to measure how tolerant the government is towards incipient ideas. It can point very well to the support available in terms of finance and infrastructure.

In conclusion, the efficacy of a leader undeniably rests on the well-being of the citizens. Only the leaders who are successful in ensuring the above-mentioned rights and opportunities in balanced qualities to their citizens can be considered effective leaders in a true manner.