Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should add taxes to unhealthy foods to improve people’s health. Use details and examples to support your opinion.

No one can deny the fact that people of this modern era have easy access to anything they want and one of them is junk food which is considered unhealthy. Nowadays, the consumption of unhealthy food is likely to surpass the healthy one and this is deteriorating people’s health. In the given scenario, it is perceived that imposing tax on unhealthy food might be helpful to restrict the use of those item and improve health. Meanwhile, I am of the opinion that undoubtedly, adding tax could aid on limiting unhealthy consumption of food which eventually ameliorate people’s health. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

To commence with, with the advancement of technology there are various types of food available in the market and some are healthy whereas some are unhealthy ones. Similarly, people are suceptible to inclined towards consuming more junk food instead of home made. In addition, they are unknown about the fact that this has affecting their health long term. So, if government impose tax on these food item then the prices of commodities will elevate and subsequently consumer do not prefer to buy things that are expensive. This way, their health will also be in balancing state. Drawing from my own experience, I personally do not prefer to buy good that are costly. I believe that doing this I can save my money for future uncertainties rather than buying junk food that are detrimental to my health. Therefore, adding tax seems to be a convincing idea in order to enhance people’s heath.

Secondly, with the decrease in purchase production of such items will also eventually reduce. To be more precise, if people stop buying things then the manufacturing companies goes down which results them in paying more taxes without having a minimal benefit. To exemplify, if a company contiuously manufacture goods nevertheless people are not purchasing because of high price then the company have to suffer a great loss. This compelled them to restrict themself from producing goods and finally since people are limiting the consumption of unhealthy food, their health automatically begins to thrive. Hence, imposing tax on such food items definitely improves the heath condition of today’s people.

All things considered, imposing tax by government on food that are not healthy to people seems to be welcoming as people do not prefer to buy food for which they have to pay more sum consequently aid them in having quality health.