Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is the passport for the future, for tomorrow belongs to those who prepare it today. No doubt, there are positive and negative aspects of increasing the salaries for university professors. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely propose to raise a salary level for college professors. I had a firm belief that professor's salaries should be improved for several reasons, and would develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, increment in professor's salaries would attract more qualified lecturers to join Universities. Generally, due to poor salary structure, the students, who attend the Ivy college league do not join educational institutes. Furthermore, bright students prefer multinational companies, who pay far better salary packages as compared to Universities. As a result, the quality of research and education level decreases over time. I must say that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. For example, six years ago, I recieved an opportunity to work as an assitant professor for Economics after graduation from a renowned technical univeristy in Munich. However, the package offered by the college was around three thousand dollar which was relatively lower than a salary level offered by other corporates. Consequently, I did not join the referred position of assistant professor and looked for other place for work. As we can see from this example, the increment in lecturer's salary would surely attract more qualified people to join colleges.

Secondly, the lecturers teaching in Universities will be motivated upon improvement in their salaries. It is undeniable that professors teaching in Universities also need to send their children to better institutes, which needs significant amount of fees. Furthermore, any individual work to achieve comfortable life, including a house in a city, a sedan car, minimum bank balance etc. for himself as well as for his family. Hence, better salaries would motivate lecturers to pur more efforts in the lectures. Drawing from my brother's experience, he is teaching in a college named University of Stuttgart since last ten years. But, his salary level is still lower than his friends, who are working for private companies. Due to which, he not critisise his college but also does not put additional efforts to improve student's grade. For this reason, University should improve a salary level for their lecturers

In view of mentioned reasons, I would firmly recommend to enhance salary packages for lecturers because the increment not only attract more talented professors but also boost the motivation level of existing lecturers.