Do You Agree Or Disagree With The Following Statement? It Is Better To Be A Member Of A Group Than To Be The Leader Of A Group. Use Specific Reasons And Examples To Support Your Answer

The ability to perform well with a team plays a pivotal role in enhancing one’s personality. There can be different roles in a team, sometimes it can be a group member and sometimes a group leader. In my opinion, to be the leader of the group is better than to be a group member. I feel this way for two main reasons that I will explore in the following essay.

The first exquisite point to be mention is that leadership position helps in our personal growth. Personal growth in terms of skills like decision making skills, communication skills, inter-personal skills etc. Indeed, group members are the building blocks of a team, and without them there is no existence of a team. But as far as the duties and responsibilities are concerned, there is always a comparatively better scope at leadership positions.

My own experience is a very good example for that. When I was doing my masters in public health, I was the team lead of field trips to public health centers of villages. To play my role effectively I had to communicate with various state, district and village authorities to make the visits successful. I had to plan the whole trip, prepare check lists etc. As a result the experience of these kinds of work created a much advanced personality of myself.

Another reason which deserves some words is that is it helps in your professional growth. When some have handled the leadership roles, it opens up the gate of a great deal of leadership job opportunities to them. As I said above, I made an advanced personality of myself by working at leadership positions. This is what the employers demand, when they look of employees of the organisation. For example, once my brother applied for a leadership position in a multi-national company. He easily got that position while others did not, because he had the experience of leadership roles in many other organisations. Hence, he could make it to get his dream job, with good position and great salary package.

In addition to aforementioned points, I would also like to mention about a research conducted by CSR institute in India. The discovered results suggest that seventy percent of the people think that leadership positions are better than group members.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that to be a leader of the group is better than to be a group member. This is because in not only helps in you personal growth but also proliferates your professional growth.