Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject

Knowledge is facts, information, and skills acquired by an individual through experience and education, and there is no debate that they have increasingly become crucial. However, a controversial topic regarding knowledge is whether it is best to have deep knowledge of a specific subject or broad knowledge of every category. No one can deny that each has its good and bad aspects. If I had to choose, I affirm that having profound knowledge about one particular topic is the best, and I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the subsequent paragraphs.

I have to admit that my view on knowledge has been affected by the life of my older sister, who currently works as a flight attendant at Qatar Airlines. Maria has always been interested in working as a flight attendant because she travels with our parents often, enjoys learning about the wide range of Asian and Latin cultures, and finds their role essential. Since my older sibling knew what she wanted to be at a young age, her future path was clear. I still do not know what I want to be when I grow up or even major in university. Recent studies show college students come to university unprepared and explore career opportunities, delaying their plans. Thus, focusing on a specific matter allows one to have a clear path in life.

Specializing in an area can help them become the best in that field. I grew up learning how to play the flute, and since it was my peak interest, I solely focused on mastering it. I have practiced the device for fourteen years and am known as the Flute Master in my school, so I often play the musical tool in numerous events like the Christmas Concert and the Narnia Play. The flute was the only instrument I focused my attention on, so I could master it, which I would not have been able to do if I practiced all the options available.

If one has a job like chemical engineering outside of learning, language and geology are useless. As an illustration, my chemical professor explained that although I am not the best in chemistry, it does not matter since I am talented in other courses like English literature and language. He emphasized that everyone has unique talents that should be developed rather than ignored while focusing on other issues unrelated to their current and future circumstances.

Based on the reasons I mentioned, it is best to specialize in a particular case than to have general information.