Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Views differ from person to person. Some people think that it is better have a broad knowledge of different academic subjects than to focus on a specific subject, whereas others cast doubt on it, holding specialists are more helpful to the society. Whether diversifying knowledge is better than specializing a specific subject is open to contention. From my point of view, broadening knowledge plays an imperative role in one's life.

To begin with, with the advent of information explosion era, more and more new scientific discoveries or novel therapies have been revealed or implemented. These new discoveries and breakthrough in the medicine facilitate the daily life quality or health quality. For example, immunotherapy becomes the promising treatments for cancer by using antibodies for targeting a unique surface marker of the immune cell to activate immune cells activation and thus kill cancer cells. If one does not have a general concept for immunology, he or she will not know this novel treatment.

Moreover, state-of-the-art technologies usually combine with distinct professional fields. Many innovative engineering and development of new machines require scientists with dual backgrounds. For instant, the invention of single cell sorter, a novel machine is used for separating single cell to a well camber, needs experts coming from physics, mechanical engineering, and cell biology. If a biologist without a broad knowledge, he or she will have a trouble to communicate with other developers.

To conclude, taking into account all the reasons, I strongly believe that it is more imperative to obtain diverse knowledge than to specialize in a specific profession field.