Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to make friends with intelligent people than with the people who have a good sense of humor.

Friends have always had an essential role in our lives. They have often paramount effects, especially on our behavior, in various conditions. Some people prefer to have humorous friends, while some others, including me, have a different viewpoint. I firmly believe that friendship with intelligent people is a better choice for everyone who wants to have nice friends. Not only do they understand well our conditions, but also we can learn a lot from their abilities. In what follows, I scrutinize the most outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, intelligent friends can easily perceive our emotions and our challenges. This characteristic helps them to recognize different parts of the story. Then, they analyze them without any hesitation. Needless to say, this paves the way for both of us to be more convenient during discussions about our problems. In fact, their help has a profound effect on our decisions. For instance, when I was a mechanical engineering student, I had a serious problem about proper communication skills with the teachers. Once I described my problem to one of my close friends, who was known as an intelligent student in our high school, he immediately captured my purpose. In fact, he had this ability to think deeply as soon as possible and his intelligence was the key point in this regard. He gave me invaluable advice for this problem. When I implement his solutions, I could easily handle the critical conditions in front of the teachers. Had not I chosen him as my friend, I would not be able to overcome my problem.

A furthermore significant point is that talented friends can transfer valuable information. They have special abilities due to their intelligence. Therefore, we can learn different concepts with selecting them as our friends. We spend a lot of time with each other and it creates proper opportunities to share our information about a variety of matters. The more intelligence, the more deep knowledge will be available for the person. Consequently, we can utilize them as a reliable source of information. Let's take my own personal experience as an example. I have a friend who has high IQ. He has published several masterpieces about history. Whenever we have a heated debate about ancient people, he easily explains different aspects of the way they live in the past. My intelligent friend has fantastic abilities to explore new information of history and he presents his activities to me effectively. As you can see, having an intelligent friend cause we learn a lot in different circumstances. That's why it is a better choice rather than a humorous friend.

In brief, by taking into account all the aforementioned reasons, it seems that choosing the intelligent people as close friends is a rational strategy. It helps us to evolve our abilities. Furthermore, they understand our emotions and problems effectively. Hence, it is highly recommended for everyone who wishes to have the most benefits from his or her friends during the lifetime.