Students of a university have a long break between university semesters; the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

۱٫ Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study (For example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science.)

۲٫ Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town. (For example, students may help local primary school children with their homework.) Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why? Give detailed examples and reasons. Use your OWN words, do NOT use memorized examples

Free time between semesters can be assumed as a golden opportunity for students to enhance their skills. They are not involved with their majors of study during this time. Some people believe that, it should be mandatory for students to participate in public activities regardless to their major. Others, including me, have a different viewpoint.I firmly believe that students should take part in courses which are different from their own main major. Not only common aspects between majors can be detected by students, but also this method leads them to have comprehensive knowledge in a variety of subjects. Furthermore, students will be able to discover their hidden abilities. The most outstanding reasons are scrutinized in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, students realize some issues that may have common characteristics and applications. However, they belong to completely different majors. These common features help them to develop their knowledge in a variety of subjects. In fact, it allows them to have a deep insight in different circumstances. For instance, when I was a mechanical engineering student, I decided to register for history classes between the semesters. These classes were held at our university and different groups of students had been registered. I noticed to the lectures about the prominent role of ancient people in civilization. It was amazing. Since I have never had information about their responsibility to the invention of the wind turbine as a source of energy. The application of wind energy is a common issue between historian contents and mechanical engineering ones. Had not I participated in this class, I would not have had such level of knowledge about ancient people.

A furthermore significant point is that students are not often aware of their abilities in other fields. Therefore, some talented students may not find this chance to present their abilities. Needless to say that participation in different courses let them to explore the hidden aspects of their abilities. Let's consider my friend's experience as an example. There was a time that the university managers ask us to choose a course for the spare time between semesters. My friend as a biology student chose the music class. "It has been so far the happiest class, I have ever seen. I learned a lot about playing piano. As a result, I found myself as a professional piano player. In fact, I recognized my talent in this way by participating in a class different from my own major."; my friend explained about his experience. That is why taking different classes can be useful for students.