Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people think that paper-based and printed resources are superior to online and internet-based resources. They believe that printed materials are more reliable and trustworthy than their online counterparts. I disagree with them and I would prefer the internet-based resources. In this essay, I am going to explain my reasons in detail.

First of all, insisting on using paper-based materials means to remove more trees from planet Earth. We all know that we live in a planet, which is at stake. Our planet Earth encounters many threats, such as global warming, desertification and deforestation, just to name a few. The source of these threats is humans. Therefore, it is our duty, as an individual, to protect our planet from these threats. One method of protecting the Earth is by keeping and preserving the trees. We know that all the papers that we use daily come from these valuable trees. Consequently, we should decline using papers, which can be done effectively by using online resources rather than paper-based ones.

In addition, the internet is limitless like an ocean without boundaries. This will help that people can find answer for their any question. The printed resources are limited and restricted, thus we may not find any solution or answer for our problems. Even if we can find our answers it will need a lot of effort and time, since we should go to libraries to find the suitable resources and then search in them for our answers. Nonetheless, for online resources you sit in front of the computer, type your question and then just a click, magically you will be connected to the numerous digital libraries all around the world. Thus, you not only have access to the resources, but also you can search effectively and quickly to find the best answer to your question, e.g., by title, by author, by abstract, by subject, to name a few.

To conclude, although many people agree with using printed materials, I concur with utilizing the online resources. This is because they are environmental-friendly and unlimited. I strongly believe that online and paper-free resources in the long run will decline the disastrous effects caused by climate changes, while they can assist humans to be more successful and prosperous in their quest.