Physical education should be mandatory at universities (Agree or Disagree).

Some people think that physical exercises should not be included in university programs. I disagree with them and believe that physical exercises such as different types of sports should be considered in the main curriculum of universities. I will explain my viewpoint in this essay via two reasons.

First of all, the exercises will help students to improve their academic performance. As it is known, students encounter different types of tensions and anxieties during a semester. However, exercises can help to change the usual habit and thus provide varieties to the life of the students. As a result, the tensions and stress of students are suppressed. Consequently, this will lead the students to study and concentrate on the subjects more accurately and effectively. Evidently, in the long run the grades of the students will be improved. My experience is a proof for this claim. During the freshman year at university I have not focused on exercises at all and just tried to study the courses. However, I soon understood that there was something missing. Although I studied hard, my exams and the grades were not satisfactory. Eventually, I understood that the solution to the problem lay in the sport. From the beginning of the next semester, along with the studying I went swimming seriously. The result was unbelievable. Not only, I could be successful on gaining the good grades, but also I could cope with the tensions and stress related to heavy workload of each semester.

Second, the physical sport can help students to learn useful skills, which will become in handy for their future career. Since group sports are based on team working, in order to be prosperous on them one should improve his skills on working as a team member. Consequently, the students improve their communication skills, which are indispensable to get success in these sports. As a result of improvement in communication skills, students can be become more successful in university programs such as research projects. Thus, in the long run students can be an employable and disciplined in their future job. For instance, from playing football I gained a lot of experience and learned a lot of skills. I learned how to be successful as a team and how to help the team to improve. Hence, I used my experience in accomplishing different projects. Confidently, if playing football had not been considered, I would have not been able to finish even one single project.

In conclusion, students should be acquired to do sports at universities. This is because doing the sport results in improvement of students’ academic performance and because can teach them many valuable skills, which will help them to be prosperous in their study and future career.