Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: it is important to learn about other cultures.

Nowadays, with the unprecedented pace of globalization, the world has become a small village. Based on that, I do agree it is crucial to learn about other cultures. I feel that way for two compelling reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First, it broadens our horizons to keep pace with the times. We can learn about different perspectives that may affect our pre-existing thoughts. To be more specific, exposure to new concepts is more likely to rectify some inherited fossilized thinking and not adhere to outdated ideations. For example, several years ago, when I studied in the US, I realized that the vast majority of the students there are financially independent. Unlike the Egyptian cultures, students rely entirely upon their families' money until graduation from universities. My exposure to the American cultures made me revise my old reflections regarding raising children. Therefore, when I returned to Egypt and got married, I raised my children according to my new notions of self-dependence personality. So, they used to get summer jobs and governmental loans that took care of their expenses and tuition fees. If I had never contacted the American culture, I would never have transformed my beliefs to the extent that my children became self-dependent with a tremendously confident personality.

Secondly, another remarkably potential benefit of learning about diverse cultures is the higher likelihood to expand our social networks that may impact our future. In other words, having an in-depth understanding of various cultures enables us to be familiar with radically different cultures and eliminates any possible cultural frictions. For instance, drawing from my own experience back then in the US, I encountered many roommates and classmates who possed drastically different religious, ethnic, and political-cultural backgrounds. Nevertheless, through our daily dealings, we got to know each other better and absorb our differences. Being tolerant and inclusive to distinct cultures left immeasurable impressions on others that I am an open-minded person. Ultimately, we became close friends. We had never had any fight or misunderstanding about our variations. As a result, I built substantial numbers of friendships with people from over the world. A few years later, my English friend classmate offered me a golden opportunity to work with him in his company in India with excellent pay. I got that chance based on my multiple connections with many Indian friends and being open to all cultures, as my English friend revealed later. As you can see, learning about diverse cultures has a positive impact on our social circles and our future.

In a nutshell, I highly recommend learning and getting into contact with diverse cultures. Not only because it transforms our outdated ideas into modern perspectives for our children, but also because it expands our social networks that influence our future.