Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: it is important to learn about other cultures.

Nowadays, with the unprecedented pace of globalization in our vigorous world, I hold the notion that it is clear as a day that it is critically important for people to learn about other cultures. I feel that way for two compelling reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First and foremost, by learning about other cultures, we can perceive things from different views to be reflective to transform our fossilized way of thinking. For example, several years ago, when I studied in the US, I found out that most students there are financially independent, which is entirely different from the Egyptian culture, since parents are obligated to support their children throughout their education. Thus, that ideation reflected on my pre-existing way of thinking regarding supporting my children in the future. Therefore, when I went back to Egypt and got married, I raised my children to rely on their money for their living expenses and tuition fees. Consequently, they got used to having a summer job and government loans to support themselves during their education journey. Had I never learned about other cultures, I would never reflect on my way of thinking to teach my children to be self-dependent.

Secondly, having an in-depth understanding of other cultures will help us make friends with foreigners, which influences our future. Being familiar with different cultures eliminates cultural conflicts. Therefore, I can expand my social network with people from distinct backgrounds without worrying about those conflicts. Drawing from my own experience back then when I was in the US, I understood considerably well about all of my roommates in the dorm and my classmates' cultures; I became a great friend because I was open-minded and tolerant of our differences. We had never had any misunderstanding about their ritual, religious or ethnic backgrounds. A few years later, my English friend offered me a golden opportunity to work in his father's company as a software developer with a huge salary. This opportunity had helped me a great deal throughout my entire carrier. I got plenty of job offers afterward due to my acquired experience in a developed country like Great Britain, as well as my reputation as an open-minded person to all cultures. Currently, I live in Egypt in a spacious house and have my own company.

As you can see, I, like many others who have an in-depth great understanding and exposure to diverse cultures, can easily make friends from all over the world, which will impact their future positively.

In a nutshell, I do agree that it is crucial to learn about diverse cultures. Not only because you will perceive various perspectives to be reflective, but also it will help you to expand your social networks, which influences your future.