Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is just as important for older people to study or learn new things as it is for younger people.

Some people think that it is as important for the elderly to learn new things as it is for the young, while others disagree. For me, I agree with the statement. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, the elderly and the youth all need to learn how to communicate with each other. Therefore, learning how to communicate is equivalently crucial for an elderly person. Take my grandmother as an example. My grandmother spent 4 hours per day studying English and Mandarin. To be more specific, my grandmother often watches many Mandarin movies and memorizes Mandarin characters every so often. She even has a small brochure writing English vocabulary, similar to my TOEFL vocabulary list. Furthermore, she tries hard to learn youth slang and youth cultures. As a result, my grandmother usually has no problems communicating with her grandchildren. On the other hand, my grandfather is stubborn and lazy. He portrays youth culture as disgusting, profane, even inhumane. Not only that, he asserts that every Taiwanese should understand traditional Taiwanese fully (most Taiwanese can only understand Mandarin and English due to historical reasons). That is to say, my grandpa is not willing to pick up Mandarin or English and know even the most common and basic youth parlance. Eventually, his grandchildren usually cannot comprehend a single word that he says. So clearly, learning how to communicate with others, especially the young, is undoubtedly essential to Baby-boomers.

In addition, old people should care about their health, so learning health-related knowledge is also vital for the elderly. Take my grandmother’s sister, Jane, as an example. Jane took several courses about how to exercise for old people. To be more specific, she learned how to exercise regularly without harming her knees. Also, Jane acquired several nutrition facts by browsing through the Health Magazine. For instance, she realized that consuming Zinc and Iron can boost metabolism. Besides, Jane knew how to plan her diet carefully to prevent obesity and diabetes. Eventually, she had not gotten any diseases even though she was 95-years-old. That is, she may have a healthier body than most young people. Contrarily, my grandma’s little brother, Tom, did not care about his health after he retired. He smoked cigarettes, drank alcohol nearly every day, and frequently ate Mcdonald's. Hence, he got hypertension and obesity when he was only 53. What’s worse, he died at the age of 59. If my uncle had acquired some health knowledge after he retired, he would not have deceased so soon. So evidently, learning how to maintain health is extremely important for the elderly.

To sum up, I agree that it is equivalently critical for the elderly to learn new skills and knowledge as it is for young people because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.