Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is just as important for older people to study or learn new things as it is for younger people.

Some people think that it is as important for the elderly to learn new things as it is for the young, while others disagree. For me, I totally agree with the statement. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, the elderly and the youth all need to learn how to communicate with each other. Therefore, learning how to communicate is also important for the elderly. Take my grandmother as an example. My grandmother spent 4 hours per day studying English and Mandarin. To be more specific, she often watches many Mandarin movies and memorizes Mandarin characters and words. In addition, she even has a small brochure writing English vocabulary, which is similar to my TOEFL vocabulary list. So usually, she has no problems communicating with her grandchildren. On the other hand, my grandfather is stubborn, and he maintains that every Taiwanese should understand traditional Taiwanese fully. Therefore, he is not motivated to learn Mandarin or English to understand his grandchildren. Eventually, my grandpa’s Mandarin and English speaking grandchildren usually cannot comprehend a single word that he says. Evidently, learning is likewise essential for the elderly because they also have to talk with others.

Last but not least, old people should care about their health, so learning health-related knowledge is as important as it is for the young. Take my grandmother’s sister, Jane, as an example. Jane took several courses pertain to old people’s health management. For instance, she realized that consuming Zinc and Iron boosts an elderly person’s metabolism. Similarly, she knew how to plan her diet carefully to prevent obesity and diabetes. Eventually, she had not gotten any diseases at the age of ninety-five. She may even have a healthier body than most young people. On the contrary, my grandmother’s little brother, Tom, did not care about his health after he retired. He continued smoking cigarettes, drank alcohol nearly every day, and ate McDonalds frequently. Hence, Tom got hypertension and obesity when he was only 53. What’s worse, he died at the age of 59. If he had learned some health knowledge after he retired, he would not have deceased so soon. So evidently, maintaining one’s health is also crucial for the elderly.

To sum up, I agree that it is equivalently important for old people to acquire new skills and knowledge as it is for young people because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.